註冊更新

Shoreditch Exchange, Hackney

為當地企業提供價錢相宜的辦公空間

Regal London獲某家族委任,發展其擁有70%業權的地塊,而該址可能是當區活化計劃的一部分。此前,該地塊用作畫框廠超過40年。項目的目標是收購周邊分別屬於兩個不同業權的地塊,從而整合該個街區,為日後的地方營造計劃提供合適空間。

過去十多年,該等土地業權人與多個其他發展商的洽談相繼失敗,但Regal London成功開展項目,全面發揮其潛力。

完成土地整合後,Regal London執行其規劃策略,成功解決多項主要挑戰,包括該址原有僱員的去留問題,以及當地複雜的古蹟保育和市容問題,當中須與Hackney和Tower Hamlets倫敦自治市、英格蘭歷史建築物及古蹟委員會以及大倫敦政府進行詳細討論。

規劃許可批准興建184個住宅單位、13,334平方米的辦公空間及4,234平方米的靈活商業和零售空間,並可進行相關的環境美化及公共範圍改善工程。該項目提供51個一房單位、75個兩房單位及58個三房單位,亦確保提供1,620平方米價錢相宜的辦公空間,因而無須發展廉價房屋,是提高項目可行性的重要考量。

項目於2017年夏季動工,預計於2020年秋季落成。發展項目的第一期於2020年初啟用,由WeWork租用13,285平方米的商業空間。

Orchard Wharf, Tower Hamlets

全新的公共範圍與經修復後生態環境豐富的East India Dock Basin相連

自2016年底起,我們一直按協議與現有的土地業權人(為一間上市公司)獨家合作,以發揮Orchard Wharf的發展潛力。土地業權人先前未能與Tower Hamlets倫敦自治市、大倫敦政府及倫敦港務局等持份者成功溝通。倫敦港務局的其中一個目標是保護和恢復各大受保護碼頭的海運業務,由於就碼頭用途出現分歧並導致關係破裂,倫敦港務局採取法律行動申請強制購買令,敗訴前更曾上訴至高等法院。

於2017年期間,Regal London不斷與Tower Hamlets倫敦自治市、大倫敦政府及倫敦港務局進行探索性討論,商討以嶄新方式重建該地塊的可能。此過程有助確立各位主要持份者的目標(如重啟該土地的海運用途),同時發掘該地塊亦可優化用作興建私人及出租住宅的潛力。

自2018年初起,Regal London與倫敦港務局的討論取得重大進展,重點談及於項目加入城市物流及「最後一哩」貨物處理設施。Regal London成功向倫敦港務局證明,物流設施之上可興建住宅,發展兩者並存的綜合項目。因此,一支由設計師和工程師組成的專家團隊於2018年10月就土地用途及設計編製了一份詳細的可行性研究報告。

最近與倫敦港務局會面後,各方已達成廣泛共識,原定的土地用途將改為一個包括住宅在內的綜合項目。倫敦港務局已書面確認這個發展方向,目前正進行討論,以就物流設施的新設計提供更多資料、提出對未來潛在營運商的要求細節,並為碼頭訂立合適的貨運能力。Tower Hamlets倫敦自治市及大倫敦政府官員均原則上支持該地塊的綜合用途建議。

基於迄今工作所獲的正面回應,該項目已成立一支完整的設計團隊,目前正籌備提交規劃申請,以在90,000平方呎的城市物流設施及寫字樓之上興建多達800個住宅單位。

Commercial Road, Tower Hamlets

項目開展不足九個月即獲授規劃許可

Regal London憑藉全面的設計、開發及規劃專長,與高級酒店/服務式住宅營運商Wilde by Staycity達成30年合作協議,就這個位於城市邊陲、地理位置優越的發展項目獲得規劃許可。

原先的寫字樓規劃許可訂出合適的發展規模,是這個項目的重要基礎。Regal London從中發現到優化建築設計的機會,透過降低每層樓高,於同一樓宇內將11層的寫字樓改建為14層的服務式住宅/酒店。

提交申請後不夠六個月,規劃許可於2019年6月批出。此結果屬意料之內,因為Regal London已與Tower Hamlets倫敦自治市及大倫敦政府官員建立良好的合作關係,並能就規劃提出有實證支持的充分理據,在決定過程中並無受到質疑。

有見多個其他投資性質的酒店發展項目未能通過規劃審批,Regal London意識到有必要向委員會證明,該項目已協議與一名優質營運商合作進行。這有助加快申請過程,項目開展不足九個月即獲授許可,且獲得所有相關持份者的廣泛支持。

The Compton, Westminster

展示Regal London樂於創新的項目

The Compton的規劃許可於2016年批出,是歐洲同類規模中首批採用鑄鋁外層的樓宇之一,其獨特的弧形外觀充滿個性,在倫敦前所未見。這個十層高的住宅項目提供48個單位,坐落於位置優越的Lodge Road, NW8之上,是Regal London與Simon Bowden Architecture建築師事務所攜手合作的項目。

項目範圍的四周建有住宅樓宇,所受限制相對較大,但The Compton的特色建築有效發揮該地塊的發展潛力及容量。這個發展項目提升了附近環境及當地建築風格,同時突破了St John’s Wood地區以至整個倫敦的住宅設計界限。

這個項目顯示出Regal London樂於採用創新的建築技術及材料。從設計到執行,每項細節均經過細心的考慮和處理。概念的構思階段相當複雜,須製作鋁質外層的原型並進行分析及測試。最終的原型在一間研究機構內接受嚴格測試,以準確量度材料及架構的韌度和強度,目的不只是符合、而是超越建築標準。

出於對建築美感和功能的重視,鋁質外層圖案的初步設計多達1,000多款,其中篩選出100款進行3D列印,並逐一評估質感與外形,確保樓宇表面採光得宜。最後改善並生產20款不同的鋁板設計,帶往現場組裝。

One St John’s Wood, Westminster

在無須大幅增加整體開發量的情況下優化設計

Regal London正與Central and Cecil Housing Trust(C&C)合作重建該址。C&C是一間非牟利住房信託公司及院舍營運商,93年來為弱勢群體及55歲以上人士提供住宿及支援。C&C在倫敦擁有並管理2,000個院舍。

原址的Dora House建於1969年,為55歲或以上人士提供204個獨立單位。為進行重建,其住戶已遷至C&C的其他居所。Dora House的單位面積遠小於現今的行業標準,時移勢易,長者房屋的特定要求亦與其落成時大為不同。Dora House大部分單位均為開放式住宅,走廊較為狹窄,暢達程度不高,予人不太親切的感覺,不再符合C&C為住戶追求的價值或目標質量。

C&C最初並無與發展商合作,其於2017年取得該址的重建規劃許可,計劃興建兩幢樓宇:面向Lodge Road的1號樓為樓高13層的長者房屋,將提供139個廉價單位及17個市價單位;面向St John’s Wood Road的2號樓為樓高10層的住宅大廈,將提供44個可售的私人住宅單位。Regal London策略性檢討2017年批出的許可,認為2號樓計劃興建的私人住宅單位面積及規模在當時市況下並不可行,未能發揮該地塊的住宅發展潛力,故委託Squire & Partners更新60 St John’s Wood Road住宅樓宇(即2號樓)的設計方案。

Regal London於2018年競逐項目的重估工作,獲C&C選用為項目交付的合作夥伴,負責為其建造新的長者房屋。

根據該地塊目前的重建計劃建議,面向Lodge Road的1號樓將提供153個廉價單位及17個市價單位,而面向St John’s Wood Road的2號樓將提供112個市價住宅單位,協議發展的住宅單位(C3類別)總數達282個。在無須大幅增加整體開發量的情況下優化設計,Regal London能提供更多廉價房屋及私人住宅。

經修訂的發展建議已於2019年2月提交以作規劃,並於2019年7月獲規劃委員會批准。該址已開始施工,預計於2022年落成。

Kings Cross Quarter, Islington

項目充分證明了單一用途的城市地塊可重建為綜合用地

Regal London於2015年收購Kings Cross Quarter發展項目的用地,並於2018年夏季竣工。該項目由Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects負責設計,其於Islington倫敦自治市內累積多個優質設計項目。

該地塊重建為一個嶄新的現代綜合發展項目,包括Europcar(地庫寫字樓)的全新替用設施及119個住宅單位。

在整個施工過程中,Regal London與Europcar緊密合作,確保按時交付其替用設施。這是整個項目的必要一環,保證了Europcar可在發展項目落成後按計劃遷回該址。項目充分證明了現有的單一用途城市地塊可有效重建為綜合用地,同時創造就業機會及增加房屋供應。

Sign Up for updates

Shoreditch Exchange, Hackney

Providing affordable workspace for local businesses

Regal London was appointed by a family that owned 70% of a site that comprised part of a potential wider regeneration opportunity. The site had been used as a picture framing factory for over 40 years. The objective was to acquire the adjacent land parcels that were held in two separate ownerships with a view to completing the urban block and creating the optimum site to deliver a transformative placemaking scheme.

Regal London was successful in bringing together the full potential of the scheme, unlocking over 10 years of unsuccessful negotiations between the respective landowners and a number of other developers.

Following the site assembly stage, Regal London then executed its planning strategy, successfully addressing a number of key challenges arising in respect of the site’s existing employment designations and a challenging local context of heritage and townscape constraints, involving detailed discussions with London Borough of Hackney, Tower Hamlets, Historic England and the Greater London Authority.

Planning permission was granted for a development comprising 184 residential units, 13,334 sqm of employment floorspace, 4,234 sqm of flexible commercial and retail space, along with associated landscaping and public realm improvements. The scheme provides for 51 x 1 bed, 75 x 2 bed and 58 x 3 bed homes. The scheme also secures the provision of 1,620 sqm of affordable workspace which was an important consideration from a viability perspective to off-set the requirement to provide affordable housing.

Construction commenced in Summer 2017 and is due to complete in Autumn 2020. The first phase of the development opens in early 2020 when WeWork occupies 13,285 sqm of the commercial space.

Orchard Wharf, Tower Hamlets

New public realm connects to a restored and ecologically rich East India Dock Basin

We have been working with the existing PLC landowner since late 2016 under an exclusivity agreement to unlock the development potential of Orchard Wharf. The landowner had been unable to engage successfully with the stakeholders, namely the London Borough of Tower Hamlets, the GLA and the Port of London Authority (PLA). The PLA has an objective to protect and reactivate Safeguarded Wharves for waterborne freight related uses and as a result of a breakdown in relations and arguments surrounding usage, the PLA undertook a CPO process; which escalated to the High Court before failing.

Throughout 2017 Regal London undertook exploratory discussions with London Borough of Tower Hamlets, GLA and the PLA to discuss the redevelopment potential of the site with a fresh approach. This process helped to crystallise the objectives of the key stakeholders in terms of reactivatingthe site for a waterborne freight use whilst at the same time gaining recognition for the fact that the site could also be optimised for residential use (private and build to rent).

From early 2018 onwards, a very productive dialogue ensued with the PLA. Discussions focused on the incorporation of an urban logistics and cargo “last mile” handling facility. Regal London was able to successfully demonstrate to the PLA that the principle of such a use can be compatible with a residential use above; “beds over sheds”. This culminated in the preparation of a detailed land use and design feasibility study informed by a specialist team of designers and engineers in October 2018.

Following most recent meetings with the PLA, a position has now been reached whereby there is broad consensus that a mixed-use development including residential can be supported as a departure from the adopted land use designation for the site. The PLA has confirmed this position in writing and dialogue is now on-going to further inform the emerging design of the logistics facility, establish details of potential future operator requirements, and confirm an appropriate freight handling capacity for the wharf. London Borough of Tower Hamlets and GLA officers are also supportive in principle of the proposed co-location of uses at the site.

Building on the positive responses to the work undertaken to date, a full design team is now working towards the submission of a planning application for a development comprising of up to 800 residential units above a 90,000 sq ft urban logistics facility and offices.

Commercial Road, Tower Hamlets

Planning permission was granted within nine months of project commencement

Regal London utilised its full breadth of design, development and planning expertise to secure a high end hotel/serviced apartment operator, Wilde by Staycity, on a 30 year lease, whilst simultaneously securing planning permission at this strategically located site on the City Fringe.

Using an original office planning permission as a crucial benchmark in terms of the appropriate scale and volume of development, Regal London recognised the opportunity to optimise the building design to reduce floor to ceiling heights to an appropriate level for a serviced apartment/hotel rather than office use. This allowed 14 floors of accommodation to be delivered in the same building envelope as the previous 11 floors of office accommodation.

Planning permission was secured in June 2019, within six months of the application being submitted. This outcome was predicated on good existing working relationships that had been built up with officers at London Borough of Tower Hamlets and the GLA as well as being able to put forward robust, evidence-backed planning arguments which went unchallenged during the determination process.

Against the background of a number of other speculative hotel developments failing during planning, Regal London recognised the importance of demonstrating to the Council that the scheme would be delivered with a high quality operator in place. This allowed the application to be progressed quickly with permission being granted within nine months of project commencement with widespread support from all relevant stakeholders.

The Compton, Westminster

The project demonstrates Regal London’s willingness to innovate

Planning permission for The Compton was secured in 2016 and it is now one of the first cast aluminium clad buildings of its scale in Europe. It is a truly bespoke addition to the London skyline, with a characterful, curved façade never seen before in the city. Regal London worked in partnership with Simon Bowden Architecture to develop the design for the 48-apartment, ten-storey residential scheme, which occupies a prime position on Lodge Road, NW8.

The distinctive nature of the building played a crucial role in maximising the development potential and quantum secured on a relatively constrained site surrounded by existing residential buildings. The development contributes to the context of its surroundings and the local architectural vernacular, whilst pushing the boundaries of design within St John’s Wood and the capital’s broader residential landscape.

The project demonstrates Regal London’s willingness to innovate in its use of building technology and materials. Every detail was carefully considered and addressed from design through to execution. The concept stage was intricate and involved working up prototypes of the aluminium cladding, running analysis and testing. The final prototype was rigorously tested at a research facility to accurately measure the resilience and strength of the material and structure – to ensure it not only fulfilled but surpassed building standards.

With emphasis on both the aesthetics and the functionality of the structure, over 1,000 designs were developed for the patterns of the aluminium bays, of which 100 were shortlisted for 3D printing. The shortlist was then assessed in terms of texture and outline, to ensure that they would capture the right amount of light on the surface of the building. Twenty different aluminium panel designs were then perfected and manufactured before being pieced together on site.

One St John’s Wood, Westminster

Optimising the design without significantly increasing the overall development volume

Regal London is working in collaboration with Central and Cecil Housing Trust (C&C) to bring forward the redevelopment of the site. C&C is a Not-for-Profit Housing Trust and care home provider with 93 years’ experience providing accommodation and support to vulnerable people and the ‘Over 55s.’ C&C owns and manages 2,000 homes across London.

The original site, comprising Dora House, was built in 1969 and included 204 self-contained flats for those aged 55 years and over. The residents were relocated to other C&C accommodation to allow the redevelopment of the site. The sizes of the homes were much smaller than current industry standard and the specific requirements of older people’s housing have changed significantly since Dora House was finished. Consequently, it comprised mostly of studios, narrow corridors, restricted accessibility and an institutional feel. This became no longer consistent with C&C’s values or quality aspirations for their residents.

Originally working without a development partner, C&C secured planning permission in 2017 for redevelopment of the site comprising a thirteen storey sheltered accommodation building (Building 1) fronting Lodge Road, comprising 139 affordable sheltered units and 17 market sheltered units, and a ten storey residential building (Building 2) fronting St John’s Wood Road, comprising 44 private for sale residential units. Regal London undertook a strategic review of the 2017 permission and concluded that the size and scale of the proposed private residential units within Building 2 were no longer viable in current market conditions and did not optimise the housing potential of the site. Squire & Partners were appointed to refresh the design of the residential building at 60 St John’s Wood Road (Building 2).

Following a competitive process to reappraise the scheme in 2018, Regal London was then chosen by C&C as its delivery partner for the project and is responsible for building the new sheltered accommodation for C&C.

The proposed development now comprises the redevelopment of the site to provide two buildings comprising 153 affordable sheltered units and 17 market sheltered units within Building 1 fronting Lodge Road, and 112 market residential units within Building 2 fronting St John’s Wood Road. In total, 282 residential units (Class C3) are now agreed. Through optimising the design without significantly increasing the overall development volume, Regal London has been able to provide additional affordable and private housing.

The revised development proposals were submitted for planning in February 2019 and were approved by Planning Committee in July 2019. Work has started on site and is due to complete in 2022.

Kings Cross Quarter, Islington

The project is an excellent example of how single use urban sites can be redeveloped for a mix of uses

The Kings Cross Quarter development was completed by Regal London in Summer 2018 following acquisition of the site in 2015. The scheme was designed by Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects who have a significant track record of high quality design within London Borough of Islington.

The site was redeveloped as a modern new mixed use development comprising a new replacement facility for Europcar (B1 office floorspace) and 119 residential homes.

Throughout the construction process, Regal London worked closely with Europcar to ensure the timely delivery of its replacement facility on site. This was an integral part of the overall programme to ensure that Europcar’s timescales for moving back to the site post-development could be achieved. The project is an excellent example of how existing single use urban sites can be effectively redeveloped for a mix of uses that maintain employment generation whilst also providing additional housing.